Marietta Chapter #59, Order of the Eastern Star

Marietta Chapter No. 59
Order of the Eastern Star
Centennial Anniversary – 1896 to 1996

The Centennial History Committee – Ruth Reeves, Chairman
Georgaleen Hockenberry, Dolores Miracle, Nancy Riley, Billie Stanley and Judy Van Dyk
Editors, Earl and Sally Gifford

 Record of Beginning of Marietta Chapter No. 59
Special Meeting for the Purpose of Forming a Chapter

On January 2, 1896 a special meeting for the purpose of forming a Chapter of the Order of the Eastern Star was held at Masonic Hall (in Marietta). There were 30 persons at this meeting, all of whom signed the request for a Charter of Dispensation to establish a Chapter at Marietta, Ohio. Henry Strecker was selected as Chairman. Mrs. Flora F. Lund was elected Worthy Matron, Henry Strecker Worthy Patron and Mrs. Flora M. Tompkin, Associate Matron.

It was moved and seconded that the name shall be Marietta Chapter No. __, Order of the Eastern Star. Motion carried.

It was moved and seconded that the fee for the Degrees be $2.00 each and Dues $1.00 per year. Regular meetings are to be held on the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of each month. Receipts for the evening from Charter Members totaled $60.00.

On January 23, 1896 the Chapter was instituted by Charles A. Eckert, Associate Grand Patron, assisted by Valley Chapter of Malta, and on January 27, 1896 a special meeting was held for the purpose of electing and appointing the subordinate officers.

The first regular meeting was held on February 11, 1896 with 14 regular Officers and 9 members present. The Chapter grew rapidly. On September 5, 1896 the W.G.M. visited the Chapter and assured them they would be recommended for a Charter. At Grand Chapter held in October, 1896, Marietta Chapter No. 59 was presented its charter and was advised to install the officers who had served under dispensation.

Special meeting for the purpose of Institution, January 23, 1896

Charles A. Eckert, Associate Grand Patron, acting as Grand Patron of Ohio, instituted Marietta Chapter U.D., OES, assisted by Malta Chapter (Valley No. 19) acting as Grand Chapter.

Mrs. Mary Beckworth Worthy Matron
Mrs. Alice Tracy Associate Matron
Mrs. S. B. Rush Secretary
Mrs. Hattie Walker Treasurer
Mrs. Norah Miller Conductress
Mrs. Ada Timnes Associate Conductress
Mrs. Ada Hoffman Adah
Mrs. Martha Dunnington Ruth
Mrs. Katie Hopp Esther
Mrs. Jennie Miller Martha
Mrs. Mary Porter Electa
Mrs. Laura Thomas
Mrs. Sarah McBee Marshals
Mrs. Carrie Humphry Organist
Mrs. E. J. Manly Chaplain

A. F. C. Williams and Mina A. Sniffen received the Degrees in due form, and all other Charter Members were obligated.

The Worthy Grand Patron instructed and advised the Chapter how to proceed. After closing, light refreshments were served.

Page 1 of 26 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26